Saturday, September 29, 2012

Not sure what to read next? Try this

Here's a site from the U.K that will automatically recommend a bevvy of new books for you based on a particular book you've liked:  

It's also on Twitter @wsirn

This mousepad is one of the WSIRN items
for sale on the website
The site is "the brainchild of writer/designer Andrew Chapman and marketing expert Paul Lenz at Thoughtplay Ltd., who started the site in 2005" and run it in their spare time.

"Like you, we're book lovers, so we care very much about what the site does. Also in 2005, we launched Who should you vote for?, which helps people make voting decisions - we had a huge number of visitors for both the UK 2005 general election and US 2008 Presidential election, and between the big elections it always has a range of interesting political quizzes. We love creating interesting online projects that get real people involved."

I visited the site and plugged in a book I recently read and enjoyed, "The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake," by Aimee Bender, and received recommendations for a bunch of books I'd also read and liked (including "A Gate at the Stairs," by Lorrie Moore and Tom Rachman's "The Imperfectionists.") and also many I've never heard of. Something like 20 results popped up.

At the bottom of any results page you can register with the site (it requires only an email address, no password) and it will remember the books you've searched. There's also a link to the site's stats, where you can see what the most popular books of the day and of the past month are. There's also a link to buy the WSIRN merchandise (includingT-shirt, mug, bag, button, keychain, and phone accessories) and a little ad from

Next to every book suggestion is a button that says "INFO/BUY" that takes you straight to After some searching on the site I discovered that WSIRN gets a small percentage of any click-through sales from

But what if you want a book that's different from the one you just read and loved? Or maybe you're like me and have no shortage of suggestions or piled up books patiently awaiting your attention.

In any case, it's a fun little database to try.

No comments: